Each year in Singapore the Office of the Minister of State and Manpower holds the Workplace Safety and Health Awards. This year on 30 July it was officiated by the Minister, Dr Amy Khor, to celebrate outstanding performances in workplace health and safety.

Each year hundreds of companies vie for the top accolades, in a range of categories that recognise everything from innovative solutions, to workplace safety, health and risk management. There are awards for individuals, as well as projects and companies.

The Sembawang Shipyard Pte Ltd (SSPL) was there en masse, and took home three awards, one of which was for Safety and Health Award Recognition for Projects, for the construction of RV Investigator.

How cool is that!

Since the project started early last year we’ve seen so many of the team members from Sembawang and CSIRO in their blue overalls and safety gear, so it’s great to see them all suited up for the awards night!

Workplace Safety and Health (WSH) Awards 2013

(l to r) Royce Lim, General Manager (Business) SSPL, Aloysius Tan, Senior Project Manager SSPL, Kar Chai Tan, Hull Construction Manager, P.K. Ong,  Managing Director SSPL, Graham Stacey, Owners Representative CSIRO, Brian Thompson, Safety Officer CSIRO and Dzul Fazly, HSE Engineer SSPL.